Security features

Faults and Technical chat for the Vauxhall Grandland
edgejedi

Post by edgejedi »

Im new to keyless entry systems and am just getting the hang of it, but car alarms....I know.

It might sound petty but Im disappointed about the security LED indicator. Its one of my obsessions tbh (yeah sad I know but...). Not that I want a massive flashing beacon on top of the car, but its lacking here on the car.

What we are given is a very irregular pulsing white light which is quite dull in brightness terms. its tiny and incorporated into the button which when pressed operates the door locking system from inside.

Most odd.

:roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll:
Jase
Grandland Global Forum Moderator
Grandland 2018, Sport Nav 1.2 (130), Ruby Red

lizzyfan

Post by lizzyfan »

Hadn't given the security system much if any thought to be honest. I just take them for granted. Strange it isn't a dash mounted red led though?
Grandland X Elite Nav 1.2 Auto-White Jade-Winter Pack 2
edgejedi

Post by edgejedi »

So.... I followed this up with the dealer.... and it appears that only the Ultimate range of grandland have the pulsing red led light as a passive anti theft deterant. Every other version doesn't have anything. Lock it and leave it....

Can anyone else confirm whether they have the passive LED please?
Jase
Atariman

Post by Atariman »

The only thing I have is the movement sensor disable button pulses every second or so, when the car is locked

According to the manual it says the central locking button should do this, but mine does not. At first I thought my alarm did not work because this it did not follow the manual, but after reading the Peugeot 3008 manual, it works the same as that. So take what you read in the manual as not possibly correct.

I wouldn't believe the dealer also, I think they just tell us what we want to hear to make us go away, and if you read stuff on the internet, like on here, you will probably know more about stuff anyway